Collector's Journal A Service of Collectors Alliance

2010 Hot Springs National Park Quarter - Arkansas

First in the America the Beautiful **Quarters** Collection

The Hot Springs National Park Quarter is the first coin in the U.S. Mint's ambitious America the Beautiful Quarters Program. The series started in 2010 as a follow-up to the highly successful and popular State Quarters series that ran from 1999 to 2009.

Between 2010 and 2021, the America the Beautiful Quarters Program will include 56 coins. Each coin will feature a National Park or other national site in each of the 50 states. the District of Columbia, and the five overseas United States territories. Unlike the State Quarters, which were released in the order of Statehood, the America the Beautiful Quarters are released in the order in which the featured site was set aside for the public by the federal government.

Following the Hot Springs National Park coin, the 2010 schedule is Yellowstone National Park in Wyoming, Yosemite National Park in California, Grand Canyon National Park in Arizona, and Mount Hood National Forest in Oregon. Each coin is struck for only about 10 weeks.

Each America the Beautiful Quarter was struck for circulation at both the Philadelphia and Denver Mints. A small "P" (Philadelphia) or "D" (Denver) under "In God We Trust" identifies the Mint where the coin was struck.

Hot Springs National Park is located in the Ouachita Mountain range in central Arkansas. It has been famous for its hot water springs since the early 1800's. The water is used primarily for its healing properties.

In 1804, President Thomas Jefferson sent the Dunbar-Hunter Expedition to explore the Ouachita Mountains in the newlyacquired Louisiana Purchase territory. Although Spanish explorer Hernando de Soto had encountered the Hot Springs region in 1541, the findings of the Dunbar-Hunter Expedition made Hot Springs a popular destination among Americans.



A bustling town quickly developed around the hot springs to provide health services, and on April 20, 1832, Hot Springs was set aside by Congress to preserve the hot springs for public use. It is the oldest site in the National Park system. Hot Springs became a National Park on March 4, 1921. The smallest of all National Parks, it covers an area of 5,550 acres. including parts of the city of Hot Springs. There are 47 hot water springs within the park. The water flows from the ground at 143°F.

The reverse of the Hot Springs National Park Quarter features the façade of the Hot Springs National Park headquarters building with a fountain in the foreground. The building was completed in 1936 in the Spanish colonial revival style. The section shown on the coin includes a doorway behind the fountain, with the shield-shaped National Park Service emblem to the right of the door.

Four different designs were proposed by the U.S. Mint as suggestions for the Hot Springs coin. Two additional designs also included the fountain - one with the building in the background and one with the fountain alone. The fourth choice depicted one of the buildings in the National Park. As required by law, the final design choice was made by Treasury Secretary Timothy Geithner.

The Hot Springs National Park Quarter was released by the U.S. Mint on April 19, 2010. The official launch ceremony took place the following day in Hot Springs, Arkansas.

Collectors Alliance • 1942 Swarthmore Avenue • Lakewood, NJ 08701 Call TOLL FREE 1-800-997-9843